A Complete Guide to 7 Chakras and their Benefits

A Complete Guide to 7 Chakras and their Benefits

Chakra is a word from Sanskrit, meaning a wheel, but in Yoga philosophy, a Chakra is an energy center in the body. According to yogic scripts, the human body has 7 chakras, and each one of them is located in a different part of the body. Each chakra can be influenced and balanced, opened and closed. But to do that, a person must know about Chakras very well and know about how to influence them. Below is a further guide towards each chakra in the human body.

  1. Root Chakra (Muladhara):

The Root Chakra or the Muladhara is the chakra that sits below all other chakras. Chakras are centered and aligned in the near-human spine. And the root chakra is at the base of the spine. It is also known as the chakra for stability and security, as it provides your body balance while doing anything.

  1. Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana):

The Sacral Chakra or the Swadhisthana is the chakra that sits above the base of the spine, slightly above the root chakra. Its exact location is near the belly button. This is the chakra that allows a person to feel sensations, including sexual, creative, and other types of sensations. To have a healthy and creative life, balance in this chakra is very important. Apart from this, it is also associated with the human feelings and emotions about certain elements in his/her life.

  1. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura):

The Solar Plexus Chakra or the Manipura chakra is located above the Sacral Chakra and below the heart chakra. It is closer to the position of the stomach in the human body. Similar to its physical location, the function of this chakra of energy are also eagerness and hunger. Also, this chakra is very important for a person’s self-esteem and confidence. To be more in control of your life, the control of this chakra is very important.

  1. Heart Chakra (Anahata):

The heart chakra which is also known as the Anahata chakra is located near the heart but aligned on the spine. This chakra has similar features to the heart as well, as it is responsible for the flow and control of love, emotions, and compassion. This chakra is very important in human life, it must be kept open.

  1. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha):

The Throat chakra or the Vishuddha as the name suggests is the chakra located near a person’s throat. This is one of the most important body parts and also one of the most important chakras as well. This chakra has the function to allow you to communicate with others. Without this chakra, there will be no verbal communication between humans, and life without verbal communication for humans is not very simple. For that reason, this chakra has a lot of importance in a person’s personal and communal life.

  1. Third-Eye Chakra (Ajna):

The Third-eye chakra or the Ajna is the chakra located in the space between two human eyes. This is the chakra that allows a person to see the other dimensions, and it is the chakra of the real light as well. In common words, you can think of this chakra as your sixth sense or your gut feeling. Influencing this chakra can improve your sixth sense and you can sense the things that might happen in the near future.

  1. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara):

This is the last chakra, crown chakra which is also known as the Sahasrara. It is located in the brain region or the head of the person. This chakra is very important as it controls the entire body of the person. In fact, this chakra determines what our reactions would be in different situations. It is also responsible for the connections between you, your inner self, and the universe around you.

How to influence the Chakras?

According to yogic scripts, due to several actions and decisions that we make, we might unknowingly shut down one or more chakras in our bodies. Things that impact our chakras can block them. This blockage of chakras impacts not only our mental state but also our physical health as well. For that reason, it is very important that we work on unblocking our Chakra. To unblock our chakras, we need to know specific techniques that are used for the unblocking of each chakra. You can learn about this from the yoga classes and yoga scripts.


There are seven chakras or energy centers in a human body, and for a successful and healthy life, it is very important that we keep all these chakras working in a balance. If this balance shifts and chakras get blocked. We need to work on that immediately and get chakras in balance. This is done by the techniques that are used for influencing chakras. Each chakra has its own technique. You can learn more about this from the online session of yoga from Arhanta Yoga Ashram.

Rate this article
related post
No Comments
leave a comment